1st time at the society

For those unaware the Society of Illustrators is of historical to illustrators. Basically anyone who is anyone has been at the society. On 63st and Lexington avenue in New york city is where the building is. They have a small muesum which showcases many illustrators work. As of this post they currently have a show on Charles d. Gibson and Lowell.

However thay was not my reasoning for going was going to meet Greg Manchess. Greg has recently has published a book Above The Timberline. Which he has written and illustrated. The illustrations were all done in oil paints. Currently about 26 of the paintings are hanging at the society. If are in the new york area a suggest you check it.

I was lucky to talk him about our preferred media. He is oil and mine being watercolor. How different these medias are and why we enjoyed them so much.

Greg’s book is on sale the 24th October, which you can get at Barnes and Noble or Amazon. Which you could pre order as well. I’ll be buying the book myself which I might do a review on if I have the time.

~A.A.CANIZALEZ

Leave a comment